Random Images

Rear wheel drives conquer Loerie


Iddo Steyn and Mark Irvine, in a Mk1 Ford Escort, is the overall and class S3 winners of the 4th Round of the Algoa Rally Club’s R50KChallenge. The awesome sounding BDA Escort of Bryan and Keith Heine followed its older cousin home with another rear wheel drive, the Datsun P510 of Darren Murphy and Matteo Cassale, in third and also winning class S2. 33 seconds back the first of the VW’s (1st in class S1 and 4th overall) was Rohan van Vuuren with co-driver Kim Putter.


The 2013 Loerie rally started up at the Moffett on Main lifestyle centre on Saturday morning the 31st of August with the ceremonial start and some fun at Kart Kings in the parking lot. The rally cars then made their way to the PEOTR for stage 1 in extremely windy and cold conditions.

Drama started as soon as the rally with the VW Golf of Melissa Heyman / Anza Muller and the Toyota Tazz of Wesley Heine / Karl Steeg not reaching the first stage time control. They were soon followed by the Malherbe’s flying rear wheel drive Datsun from George with a “………ratkas” problem.

Van Stadens pass was next after a service followed by the very fast “Upper Loerie” stage and a repeat of these two fast tar stages. Rikus Schmidt and Stephno Pieterse (second in the championship before the event) were fastest on the tar in their VW Golf but a problem in stage 7 caused them to lose some time and they had to settle for 5th overall.

Pre-event championship leaders, Jacques Louw and Gabriel Groener, managed 7th behind Johan and Juane Viljoen who made a welcome return after a tumble in the Longmore forest during the Ocean Basket rally earlier in the year. They were followed by Jan Vosloo and Ria Viljoen in the Nissan Sentra with Jono Stephen / Reece Thomson and Keith Mcgregor / Duncan Bezuidenhout completing the top 10.

The Algoa Rally Club would like to thank the event sponsors: Schaeffler SA (LUK) and Capri Spares as well as Kart Kings, Bryan Heine and the R50kChallenge sponsors. Our gratitude is also extended to all the organisers, officials, marshals, crew and spectators that faced (or not) the extreme weather to make the event successful.

The final overall and class results can be downloaded here

Please LOGIN to post comments !!