Random Images

Algoa Rally Club: Annual prize giving - 2012 season


The Algoa Rally Association annual prize giving was held at the Hunters Retreat Hotel on Saturday the 26 January 2013 for the 2012 Regional and Club Championship. The master of ceremonies was National powerboat commentator Brendon Kelly. The prize giving was held in the hotel’s boma open area with exceptional evening weather.


Overall position for RA5 regional championship and club championship for drivers went to Ross Bartle driving a VW RA5 Citi Golf who had a particularly good year winning the Toyota Cape and Garden Route National rally S20 Class. Second place was Jouwert Van Der Walt followed by Andrew Heine driving similar RA5 City Golf’s.IMG 0080 Small

Overall position for navigator’s championship was Mark Irvine assisting Iddo Stein driving a Ford Escort also winners of the Club S20 championship, second place navigators was Andries Beyers followed by Rick Janse Van Rensburg.

Club championship driver second place was Brian Heine driving a Datsun SSS and later a GMP Motor Sport VW Golf RA5, followed by Neels Vosloo and navigator Jan Vosloo driving a Nissen Sentra 2 Lt. Special trophies for the roll of the year went to Simone Neethling and Anza Muller who rolled their RA5 Golf in the Volkswagen National rally in appalling conditions and heavy rain.

Most improved driver of the year was Neels Vosloo who two years ago was a spectator at Fountains Mall Rally and won the event last year which included the sort-after prize of watches sponsored by Gabriel Jewellers.

Marshal of the year went to Gerard Claasen and recognition to the Zietsman family for contribution to rally over the past few years which included National events. Martie Fourie received recognition with an award for her invaluable contribution to time keeping and administration.


New woman in motor sport went to Ria and Juane Viljoen for navigation, biggest loser Denzo Ferreira who had a mechanical breakdown on his Nissan 1400 Bakkie for not completing the first stage of the Fountains Mall rally and oldest navigator award was Jan Vosloo.

Special awards and recognition to Rikus Schmidt for assisting fellow competitors and his passion for the sport and who went the extra mile to assist competitors in need of assistance.

Graham Twiss who sadly past away in December, was commended for his contribution to Motor Sport, in particular rally, and assisting with raising sponsors and assisting fellow competitors.

Brian Heine received a special award for his return to rallying after many years and positive contribution to the sport which he enjoys and motivates others to be involved.

The prize giving was a successful social event and has set the stage for what can only be an exciting year for rally with the R 50 000 prizes on offer.


Please LOGIN to post comments !!